Recognizing Levittown’s Best And Brightest

The entire Levittown Kiwanis Club was honored at the school district’s Recognition Dinner. (Photo by Joseph Catrone)

Representatives from many of Levittown’s most important and beloved organizations were on hand for the 22nd Annual Community Recognition Dinner, held Thursday, March 1, at Levittown Memorial Education Center. The event saw awards of recognition granted to individuals who have had a positive communal impact through the work they’ve done in their respective organizations. Supplementing the awards was the announcement of the inductees into Levittown’s Hall of Fame, which included Sue Petersen-Lubow, John Theissen, Kate Murray, Sal Carrillo, Doug Robins, Dennis Dunne, David Falk, Thomas Feinman, Ellie Greenwich and Kevin McKinney.

“It’s really amazing how much work a lot of people do here in this community,” said Bob Koenig, who was selected as the Levittown Community Council’s honoree. “It’s nice that the school district will honor different people. Everybody in here is good for contributing, somehow, to the community, and it’s a great event.”

Bob Koenig (third from right) with several members of the Levittown Community Council. (Photo by Joseph Catrone)

The celebration featured dinner courtesy of the Levittown School District’s culinary students. In addition to Koenig, honorees included: Henry To from American Legion Levittown Post #1711; Janice Friedman from CSEA; Eleanor Walsh from the Kiwanis Club of Levittown; Donald Schneider from Knights of Columbus #3581; The Kiwanis Club; Michael Levy of the Levittown Chamber of Commerce; Frank Cacioli, William Kinsley and Timothy Courtney of the Levittown Fire Department; Bill Wilson of the Levittown Historical Society; Garrett Wyckoff of Levittown/Island Trees Youth Council; all volunteers from the Levittown PTA Council; Helene Hertzlinger of the Levittown Public Library, whose award coincided with her retirement; Christopher Milano of Levittown Public Schools; David Brohman of the Police Department Second Precinct; Jim Duffy of VFW Post #9592; and Kerry Nortwich of Wantagh/Levittown Volunteer Ambulance Corps. Recipients of the Random Act of Kindness Award included Debra Chase, Barbara Ann Fazzino, Joseph Fradella and Kimberly O’Connor.

Each honoree received words of praise from their peers and had the chance to speak, demonstrating that each had their own story. But as Nassau County Legislature and longtime Levittown resident John Ferretti made clear in his pre-ceremonial remarks, all of the night’s award recipients were connected by their dedication to the Levittown community.

“Growing up in Levittown, I had the benefit of enjoying all of the service that many of you do here for our community, and growing up, I think it took for granted….Going to the library, going to an event at the VFW, what are fire department does, what all of you do for us. The events that happen with the Levittown Community Council—Lazy Days of Summer,” Ferretti said. “Having the opportunity to serve as your county legislator and getting to know all of you, I don’t take for granted the work that you do and the dedication you put in for our community. It’s really, really appreciated.”

What did you think of this article? Share your thoughts with me by email at:

Previous articleFeed Me, Seed More
Next articleWantagh FD Reports No Injuries In House Fire
Joseph Catrone is the former editor of Farmingdale Observer, Hicksville News, Levittown Tribune and Massapequa Observer. He is also a contributing writer to Long Island Weekly and Anton Media Group's special sections.


Leave a Reply